Broker Check

Blog

From time to time we would like to give you information that you may find useful. We would also like to occasionally provide some fun and unique items that are not necessarily finance related. We hope you enjoy our blog!

Monday, January 9, 2023

A strong Friday rally triggered by fresh signs of moderating inflation pushed stocks into positive territory to begin the new year. The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.46%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced 1.45%....

Tuesday, January 3, 2023

In a holiday-shortened week, erratic trading left stocks marginally down for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 0.17%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 slipped 0.14%. The Nasdaq Composite index fell 0.30%. The MSCI...

Thursday, December 29, 2022

Monday, December 19, 2022

Hawkish comments by the Fed and weak economic data heightened investors’ recession concerns and sent stocks lower last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 1.66%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 retreated 2.08%. The...

Monday, December 5, 2022

Stocks ended higher last week as investors navigated the crosscurrents of a potential easing in future rate hikes and continued strength in the labor market.The Dow Jones Industrial Average edged 0.24% higher, while the Standard &...

Show All

Monday, November 28, 2022

Growing optimism that the Fed may be ready to ease future interest rate hikes sent stocks higher in a quiet trading week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 1.78%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 1.53%. The Nasdaq...

Thursday, November 24, 2022

The warmth of the holiday meal beckons. Thanksgiving is a time for gathering with loved ones and observing gratitude.So, as you gather around the table, look around and give thanks for the family and friends surrounding you. Give...

Monday, November 21, 2022

The stock market edged lower last week as it digested a crosscurrent of conflicting economic data and contrasting comments from Fed officials.The Dow Jones Industrial Average was flat (-0.01%), while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Monday, November 14, 2022

A cooling inflation number ignited a powerful rally on Thursday, sending stocks to strong gains for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 4.15%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 5.90%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, November 7, 2022

Hawkish comments by Fed Chair Jerome Powell, following the announcement of another 75 basis points interest rate hike last week, cast a pall over financial markets, sending yields higher and stocks lower.The Dow Jones Industrial...

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Did you know? November is Long Term Care Awareness Month. 70% of Americans will need some kind of extended care over the course of their lives. Understanding Long Term Care

Monday, October 31, 2022

Stocks overcame poor earnings results from some of America’s largest companies to post gains last week as investors cheered positive earnings surprises, easing inflation and a rebound in economic growth.The Dow Jones Industrial...

Monday, October 24, 2022

A positive start to a new earnings season and late-week hopes for a near-term easing in Fed rate hikes lifted investors’ spirits and powered stocks to gains for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average jumped 4.89%, while the...

Monday, October 17, 2022

Stocks were mixed last week amid wide intra- and inter-day price swings, as technology shares bore the brunt of the downdraft.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 1.15% for the week. Meanwhile, the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Thursday, October 13, 2022

Are you aware that Ridgway Private Wealth offers retirement plans to small businesses? We are also unique in that we will help the employees decide on an investment strategy. Attached is some material from one of our providers that we...

Monday, October 10, 2022

A powerful two-day stock rebound cemented a positive week for investors as a new trading month began.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.99%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 1.51%. The Nasdaq Composite index increased 0...

Monday, October 10, 2022

As the Federal Reserve has increased rates this year, have rates on your checking and saving account barely moved? If you would like to discuss options including brokerage mutual funds and short-term highly rated bonds (including...

Monday, October 3, 2022

Rising recession fears and uncertainty in the bond and currency markets sent stocks to new 2022 lows last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average declined 2.92%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 slumped 2.91%. The Nasdaq Composite...

Monday, September 26, 2022

Last week, Fed Chair Powell said the U.S. would not tame inflation without economic pain. This week heightened recession fears and sent stocks broadly lower.The Dow Jones Industrial Average dropped 4.00%, while the Standard &...

Friday, September 23, 2022

These days, an encouraging word can feel like a relief. Here are a few positive stories I’ve noticed lately – like an “everything bagel” sprinkled with good news.

Tuesday, September 6, 2022

The overhang of Fed Chair Powell’s Jackson Hole speech the previous week carried over into last week as investors recalibrated stock valuations amid a seemingly more assertive monetary policy stance.The Dow Jones Industrial...

Monday, August 29, 2022

A comprehensive sell-off on Friday following comments by Fed Chair Jerome Powell drove stocks to losses for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average tumbled 4.22%, while the Standard & Poor's 500 dropped 4.04%. The Nasdaq Composite...

Monday, August 22, 2022

Stocks tumbled on Friday, sending stocks to a weekly loss after an otherwise quiet August week of trading.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped -0.16%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 lost 1.21%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Sunday, July 31, 2022

The below link is a piece from Fidelity Institutional I find very useful. Whether you are a parent, grandparent or would like to assist in helping a child with college, a 529 plan is usually the best choice. Though the state were you...

Thursday, July 21, 2022

College Funding: the simple fact is the sooner you plan, the better. If you have not begun preparing, start now – there is no better time to get the proverbial ball rolling. We are here to help.

Monday, July 18, 2022

A record-high inflation report, the prospects of a more aggressive Fed, and growing recession fears sent stocks lower– though losses were pared by a Friday rally.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.16%, while the Standard...

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

At the risk of slowing economic growth, the Fed has driven short-term rates higher to rein in inflation. But it’s a tricky proposition.Raise rates too much, and you may trigger a recession. Don’t raise rates enough, and you...

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Retirement may look a little different for women. But with the right strategies and support, you'll be able to live the retirement you've always wanted.

Monday, May 16, 2022

Monday, May 2, 2022

Monday, April 18, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Monday, March 28, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Monday, March 14, 2022

Monday, February 28, 2022

Thursday, February 17, 2022

Carlota Larson shares her thoughts on rising interest rates.

Monday, February 14, 2022

Friday, February 11, 2022

Monday, January 31, 2022